

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, PLANNING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ON THE TRAFFIC AND ROAD SAFETY (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2022

MAY, 2022

When the clerk to parliament

May, 2022

When the clerk to parliame

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, PLANNING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ON THE TRAFFIC AND ROAD SAFETY (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2022

1.0 Introduction

The Traffic and Road Safety (Amendment) Bill, 2022 was, at the 18th Sitting of the 3rd Meeting of the 1st Session of the 11th Parliament of Uganda held on Thursday 31st March, 2022, presented for First Reading and referred to the Committee on Finance, Planning and Economic Development for further scrutiny.

Rt. Hon. Speaker, the Committee considered the Bill through consultations with different stakeholders, hence this report.

2.0 Object of the Bill

The object of this Bill is to amend the Traffic and Road Safety Act, Cap 361 by substituting for the word "date" the word "year"; by repealing paragraph (a), (b) and (f) of section 178; by substituting for the word "Board" wherever it appears, the word "Competent Authority"; by substituting for the words "Secretary to the Board" wherever it appears, the words "chief licensing officer"; and other related matters.

3.0 Methodology

The Committee held meetings and received memoranda from the following;-

- i) Minister of Finance, Planning and Economic Development;
- ii) Uganda Revenue Authority;

4.0 Observations of the Committee

The Committee observed that the Traffic and Road Safety Act, Cap.361 provides for the law relating to road traffic, traffic offences and other purposes connected with road traffic and road safety. The Traffic and Road Safety (Amendment) Bill No.8 of 2022 was laid before Parliament to amend the Act.

The Bill seeks to streamline the current law with the structural changes at the Ministry for instance making the Department of transport regulation and safety

as the Competent Authority.

Clause 2; Amendment of Section 2(1) of the Principal Act

The Committee observed that Clause 2 of the Bill seeks to amend section 2 (1) of the Principal Act by inserting in the definition section, the word "Commissioner" which shall mean the Commissioner responsible for Transport Regulation and Safety.'

This follows the amendment of the Principal Act by the amendment Act of 2020 that restructured the sector and placed responsibility back to the Department of transport regulation and safety in the Ministry responsible for transport.

The Committee noted agrees that Departments under Ministries are headed by Commissioners and therefore the clause will be in line with government structures as well as the prevailing law.

Clause 3; Amendment of Section 14A of the Principal Act;

The Committee observed that Clause 3 of the Bill seeks to amend section 14A of the Principal Act by substituting the word "date" with the word "year".

The Committee noted and agreed that Section 14A deals with the restrictions on the importation of motor vehicles based on their date of manufacture. Most vehicle-documentation do not provide for the date but year of manufacture and thus will make it easier to compute the years in order to comply with the law.

Clause 4; Amendment of Section 14B of the Principal Act

The Committee observed that Clause 4 of the Bill seeks to amend section 14B of the Principal Act by substituting the word "date" with the word "year".

The Committee noted that Section 14B places an environmental levy on the importation of motor vehicles based on their date of manufacture. Most vehicle-documentation do not provide for the date but year of manufacture and thus will make it easier to compute the years in order to comply with the law.

Clause 5; Amendment of Section 178 of the Principal Act

The Committee observed that Clause 5 of the Bill seeks to amend section 178 of the Principal Act by repealing paragraphs (a), (b) and (f)

The Committee noted that paragraphs (a), (b) and (f) of Section 178 deal with the Minister's general powers to make regulations particularly prescribing the manner of convening the meetings, procedure and keeping accounts of the Council.

The Committee further noted and agreed with the Committee that Section 75 of the Traffic and Road Safety (Amendment) Act 2020 repealed section 168 that provided for the National Road Safety Council and thus abolishing the Council. Therefore Section 178 (a), (b) and (f) that refer to the Council are redundant.

Clause 6; Amendment of Section 31 of the Principal Act

The Committee observed that Clause 6 of the Bill seeks to amend the Traffic and Road Safety (Amendment) Act by replacing the word "Board" with "Competent Authority" and "Secretary to the Board" with "Commissioner".

The Committee noted that Section 31 of the 2020 Amendment Act substituted the Transport Licensing Board with the Department of Transport Regulation and Safety in the Ministry responsible for transport as the Competent Authority. Therefore references, within the Principal Act, to the "Board" would be redundant. This clause would thus clarify on this apparent error.

Furthermore, departments under Ministries are headed by Commissioners and therefore the clause will be in line with government structures as well as the prevailing law.

Clause 7; Amendment of the Fourth Schedule of the Principal Act

The Committee observed that Clause 7 of the Bill seeks to amend the Fourth Schedule of the Principal Act by substituting the word "date" with the word "year".

Following the intended amendment of section 14B by Clause 4 of the bill, it is only logical that the Fourth Schedule that provides details of the environmental levy is also amended accordingly. Most vehicle-documentation do not provide for the date but year of manufacture and thus will make it easier to compute the years in order to comply with the law.

The Committee further observed that the bill if passed would streamline the apparent errors in the prevailing Act given the changes made by the 2018 and

2020 amendment Acts.

Recommendation

The Committee recommends that the Traffic and Road Safety (Amendment) Bill, 2022 be passed into law.

A Company of S

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE FINANCE, PLANNING AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT; THE TAX TRIBUNALS (AMENDMENT) BILL OF 2022

NO	NAME	CONSTITUENCY	SIGNATURE
1	Dr. Keefa Kiwanuka C/P	Kiboga East County	Week Lawaru
2	Hon. Avur Jane Pacuto D/CP	DWR Pakwach	
3	Hon. Wamakuyu Ignatious Mudimi	Elgon County	
4	Hon. Kankunda Amos Kibwika	Rwampara County	
5	Hon. Atima Jackson	Arua Central	
6	Hon. Bataringaya Basil	Kashari North County	Allow
7	Hon. Asiimwe K Enosi	Kabula County	
8	Hon. Aleper Moses	Chekwii County	" July
9	Hon. Ssejoba Isaac	Bukoto CountyMid West	
10	Hon. Tayebwa Herbert Musasizi	Kashongi County	Misosin
11	Hon. Lematia John	Ayivu West County	p)
12	Hon. Kyooma Xavier Akampurira	Ibanda County North	Jom Jawir
13	Hon. Nakut Faith Loru	DWR Napak	
14	Hon. Nangoli Gerald	Elgon North County	OR.
15	Hon. Katali Loy	DWR Jinja	(P)
16	Hon. Ochai Maximus	West Budama County North	00-
17	Hon. Opolot Patrick Isiagi	Kachumbala County	
18	Hon. Wanda Richard	Bungokho Central	Morado

19	Hon. Okwir Samuel	Moroto County	
20	Hon. Nabukeera Hanifa	DWR Mukono	
21	Hon. Muwanga Kivumbi	Butambala County	
22	Hon. Ssenyonyi Joel	Nakawa West	
23	Hon. Nandala Mafabi	Budadiri West County	wondusco
24	Hon. Batuwa Timothy	Jinja West County	
25	Hon. Akol Anthony	Kilak North	
26	Hon. Luttamaguzu Semakula P.K	Nakaseke South	
27	Hon. Ocan Patrick	Apac Municipality	
28	Hon. Omara Paul	Otuke County	Moneyany
29	Hon. Muhammad Nsereko	Kampala Central Division	
30	Hon. Aciro Paska Menya	DWR Pader	
31	Hon. Kinyamatama Suubi Juliet	DWR Rakai	
32	Hon. Masaba Karim	Mbale, Industrial Division	